HISTORY OF TUXTLA GUTIERREZ
Up to where news is had historical, Tuxtla was never founded formal mind as village. Only it is known that in the middle of the 15th century, a group of friars reduced the settlements of Indians zoques that they were situated dispersed in Tuchtlan's valley and baptized it with the name of San Marcos Tuxtla, a hermitage dedicated to San Marcos being constructed in the center of the village.
Tuxtla, as village, was not important in the epoch of the settling, since it was depending politically on the village of Guzmán de Chiapa's Santo Domingo of Indians, today Chiapa of Roe-deer.
On June 19, 1768 the village of Tuxtla turns into head-board of a new Major Mayoralty of Chiapas's province; for such a motive, don Juan 0liver the first Major Mayor and Lieutenant of Governor of Tuxtla, gives himself to the task of constructing a small public building that was lodging the new authorities is Spanish that would reside in this region.
On September 20, 1786 for Real Certificate of the King Carlos III of Spain, there was created the Intendency of Chiapa's Ciudad Real, eliminating, in consequence, Tuxtla's Major Mayoralty, which was converted into Head-board of Party by jurisdiction into 33 villages, taking the town hall as a building.
On the first of November, 1813 it is raised to the category of Villa, since already it was counting with near 5,000 inhabitants (74.4 % zoques and 19.9 half-caste % and 5.7 Spanish %).
On the first of January, 1821 one installs in the villa of San Marcos Tuxtla the first Constitutional Town hall, taking Jose Estevanell and Jacinto Roque as mayors. Again the town hall gave lodging to the new municipal authorities.
4 of, in September, 1821 the municipal authorities proclaim the independence of Tuxtla's Villa both of Guatemala and of Spain, adhiriéndose to don Agustín de Iturbide's nascent Empire.
On September 14, 1824 it is proclaimed in cardinal Ciudad Real of the province, the federation of Chiapas to Mexico. On July 29, 1829 it rises up to the range of city.
From February 9, 1834 to May 25, 1835, the town hall was sedate of the local power that moved of St Kitts to Tuxtla's Villa, for Don Joaquín Michael Gutiérrez could not to govern in that city, Later, Tuxtla Gutiérrez it was sedate provisionally of the power of the State in 1858-1861, 1864-1867 and in 1892, last date in which it turned into the definitive capital. In all these occasions the town hall worked as palace of government, so much of the State, like the municipality. Finally Tuxtla's town hall had to construct a new building.
On May 31, 1848 one adds to Tuxtla's city Gutiérrez's surname, in posthumous honoring of Don Joaquín Michael Gutiérrez, federalist hero of Chiapas.
On May 21, 1851 there is promulgated the decree that granted permission to Tuxtla's Town hall in order that it could construct a new national or consistorial house. This, due to the fact that the former town hall was giving content both to the prefects and to the subprefects and municipal mayors (1826-1857) and later to the political chiefs and mayors (1858-1915).
On January 16, 1915 there are suppressed Tuxtla's political headquarters, for what his powers and attributions are absorbed by the free municipality. Don Noé Vázquez was the first municipal president of Tuxtla.
Immediately after that the Government of the State moved to Tuxtla Gutiérrez's city, the town hall constructs a new building in the neighborhood of Santo Domingo, in the corner that the streets form agreed The Victory (second av. north) and there is quiet Monk Víctor M.; Flowers, which also Joaquín Michael Gutiérrez's name had 1914-1930 (first west) same that worked until 1942.
On February 28, 1941. The H. Congress of the State authorizes to Tuxtla Gutiérrez's Town hall to sell in $ 17,000.00 weight the former building of the Municipal Palace, since already there was had the project to construct a new building in another place.
On December 31, 1942 there was inaugurated the new Palace of Municipal Government, with the support of the Government of the State that the Dr. Rafael Pascasio Gamboa (1940-1944) was heading. This new building was constructed by style neocolonial, in the corner that the central av. and the street 2a. West north, in the areas that belonged to don Noé Vázquez, the first municipal Constitutional president of Tuxtla Gutiérrez (1915). And that before had been of dona Ursula Espinosa and after the Ing. Rodolfo Ruiz, who it sold to Don Noé Vázquez.
Historically this area was located in the corner that they were forming the Real Street (avenue of the Republic: 1867-1928; agreed Álvaro Obregón; 1928-1930; central avenue, 1930-1974; agreed on September 14 1974-¿?; and Central avenue, up even today and the street Madariaga in honoring to don Pedro Jose de Madariaga, political chief of the department of Tuxtla (1863), which fought against don Maximiliano's imperialism of Hapsburg (1864-1867).
In 1981, on the occasion of the remodeling of the civic square of Tuxtla Gutiérrez's city, it was considered to be the construction of a new Municipal Palace. For it, the Town hall tuxtleco donated to free title the urban land that was occupying the municipal presidency (located in the central av. and 2a. West north street) to the government of the State and this one in turn it celebrated a contract of barter of the urban land of the H. Town hall for the one that was occupying the Workers' Federation of Chiapas's State (C.T.M.) (2a. Av. north orientates number 129), in order that in the latter place the new Municipal Palace was constructed.
On May 11, 1982, the Lic. Jose Lopez Portillo, president of the Mexican Republic, does the formal delivery of the former building that was A Municipal Palace (1942-1982), to the Workers' Federation of Chiapas's State (C.T.M.), same that was got by don Salvador Durán Perez, General Secretary of the mentioned federation, in which they were witnesses of honor Juan Sabines Gutiérrez and the Dr., Ricardo Salís Trujillo, Governor of the State and the Municipal President of Tuxtla Gutiérrez, respectively. From this date, the former Municipal Palace is the head office of Chiapas's working head office, adhered to the CTM.
OF TUXTLA's SHIELD GUTIERREZ
One very distant day which date has not been needed and gets lost in the shade of the centuries, they came to the valley of mactumaczá, men and women of delicate facial features, of proportionate well bodies, lovers of the hunt and the agriculture, " sharp and ingenious people ".
They were coming from West and his ascendancies were living lands of the north of Chiapas, Oaxaca, Tabasco and Campeche; the language that they were speaking was related to the dialect tapachulteca of the inhabitants of the soconusco, they seated in right margen of the river Quishimbac or Sabinal and planted a Ceiba near where now yergue the new Palace of Government of the State.
The zoques, group mayense
probably, devoted themselves to the house of wild animals and specially rabbits
that were jumping in the plains and hills; they cultivated the fields of corn
and devoted themselves to the crafts of ceramics, it sedates and cotton fabrics.
The aborigines were called his people Coyatoc, that is to say a " house of rabbits " (of coyá, rabbit; and toc marries) though some commentators name Coyatocmó and MO who means place being translated quite: " Place marries of rabbits ".
When in the 15th century the nahuas conquered lands Chiapanecas they designated Coyatoccon TUCHTLAN's name is to say " Place of Rabbits " (of Tochtli, rabbit and tlan, where they abound). The zoques that possess a vocabulary of acute words as the Frenchman, declared TUCHTLAN, instead of the paroxytone or serious word imposed by the Aztecs, on the other hand the Hispanic conquerors declared and wrote TUSTA until beginning of the 19th century and finally TUXTLA.
They were the same
mexicas quines granted shield to Tuxtla, being the hieroglyph a rabbit of
profile sat on a plane supported by three teeth or grains of corn that indicate
On December 23, 1996, For agreement of session of chapter, the H. Town hall I adopt Shield of the Municipality the triumphant drawing of the contest of design of the Shield of Tuxtla, of the painter Luis Ernesto Morán Villatoro.
The Emblem of Tuxtla consite in a shield with red field and on him one finds the figure of a pre-Hispanic rabbit, stopped in vertical position with him posterior legs, in a human jaw with three teeth, same that symbolizes the name indigenous Tuxtla's (of the náhuatl: tochtli, rabbit; tlantli, abundance